Aston Villa team re-union

Moor Hall Hotel & Spa was proud to welcome the  Aston Villa European Cup winning squad of 1982 this October when they visited  the area to be entered into Aston Villa’s Hall of Fame after a Gala dinner at  the Club.

The players had travelled to Sutton Coldfield from all around the world, from as far as Australia and Canada, to be  re-united. Captain of the squad, Dennis Mortimer, and scorer of the winning  goal in the final against Bayern Munich, Peter Withe, were among the stars that  stayed at the hotel.

The squad is arguably Villa's best in the last 50 years, so it is fitting that they  stayed at Moor Hall which is celebrating 50 years of family ownership in 2011.

Pictured, from left to right: Colin Gibson, Ken McNaught, Gary Williams, Alan Evans, Andy  Blair, Pat Herd, Brendan Ormsby, Gary Shaw.